She Said Yes

A little over a week ago we got an unexpected visitor.

John and I were lounging on the couch as we always do. (I wonder if other couples have a side of the couch that is theirs?) John was kicked back with his feet reclined to my right, watching a new show on Netflix and I had just traded my laptop and endless Christmas shopping for the book I can’t seem to finish. It was after seven when we heard the familiar rumble of yet another delivery truck making it’s way up the hill.

“Is that another delivery?” I asked John when we heard the truck stop and a door slam shut. We had already had three separate package deliveries, those poor guys get no rest this time of year.

John was almost up when we both heard the front door open and a familiar voice said, “Hello!”

I looked at John. Not a delivery. My eyes started to tear up and a smile spread across my face.

Norman sauntered through the kitchen and plopped down on the couch across from us. I set my book down, straightened up on the couch and waited. I knew exactly why he was here to see us.

Alli had come by earlier in the evening to visit before they were to head out on their trip this weekend. Her and Norman would be leaving in the morning for New Hampshire for a few days away to celebrate their 5th anniversary together. 5 years is kind of a big deal for these high school sweethearts. 5 years is kind of a big deal period.

I will never forget the day Alli first told me about Norm. She had recently switched out of a study hall with no friends to a PE class where she had, for the first time in her life, become enamored with a beautiful senior boy. The teenage me was giddy for her, the mom me was terrified. Alli had never been head over heels for anyone. Plenty had been for her, and she broke every single one of those hearts without a second thought. Seeing how much she was infatuated with this young man, I feared that this would result in her first broken heart.

But sometimes moms are wrong. That 15 and 17 year old have grown up together. They have endured things beyond their years together. And now a 22 year old Norman was about to ask for our blessing to marry our daughter.

He was glowing, and I don’t even remember his exact words, but I knew what was coming. He’s not an overly emotional young man, so I don’t think there were a lot of mushy gushy words. But what I’ve learned in this life is that words can be cheap. Actions speak volumes. I’ve witnessed and scrutinized with a protective mom-eye the way these two lovebirds interact with one another for years. They went to each others proms together, posed for graduation photos together, and consoled one another through the deaths of their fathers. They grocery shop together, take turns cooking, and encourage one another in their pursuit of healthy living by eating clean and staying active together. If the weather is bad Norm tells Alli to take his truck to work, if Norm is feeling under the weather Alli makes him soup and keeps him company. Any doubts in the back of my mind about this young couple went away as I witnessed this young man beaming from ear to ear.

He loves our daughter and wants to marry her.

I know no one is going to be perfect. Anyone who ends up with my daughters is going to have moments that make me want to give them “ye old hairy eyeball”, but if they are loving them right we will move past dick-moves and crappy moods. After all, no one remembers better than I do how difficult those two angelic daughters of mine can be from time to time.

He showed us the ring he had picked out for her. It was perfect, a very “Alli” ring. He had plans to propose while ice skating on their anniversary Saturday night. Friday night he texted that there would be a change of plans. The skating rink was closed, instead they were going to take the cog train up Mount Washington at sunset.

All day Saturday I was anxious and distracted. I chose to spend the day with my sister shopping in Bangor with the exception that I had to be back by three. Of course I couldn’t tell anyone why I had to be back… oh, and I’m a horrible liar. My sister thought I was insane when she pulled up next to my car at 3:30 and I all but jumped out so I could race home to be with John when the call came in.

“They were on their way up the mountain, but it looks like they have stopped moving,” John informed me while I drove the last few miles home. My stomach did a flip. I knew I would be home in plenty of time now, not standing in the middle of Target when my daughter face-timed me the news, but I was still a ball of nerves. My baby was getting engaged, maybe at that very moment. When did I get here to this place where I’m now the mother of the bride to two daughters planning their dream weddings?

We watched Life360 for the next hour or so. We knew when they started making their way back down the mountain that they were probably already engaged. We watched as they wound their way back through the white mountains to the hotel where they were staying. Not long after, my phone began to vibrate.

John and I held the phone out at arm’s length with our other arms wrapped around one another. “Hey…” we answered smiling. They were the picture of happiness as they told us the news we already knew. We all smiled as they recounted the story of how the whole thing happened. My heart sang and when we finally hung up John and I hugged and kissed. Is there any better feeling than knowing your children are happy?

Leave a comment